Today is Very Boring by: Jack Prelutsky

June 7, 2010 at 2:14 pm 8 comments

Today is Very Boring

Today is very boring,

it’s a very boring day

there’s nothing much to look at,

there’s nothing much to say,

there’s a peacock on my sneakers,

there’s a penguin on my head,

there’s a dormouse on my doorstep,

I’m going back to bed.

Today is very boring,

it’s boring through and through,

there is absolutelty nothing

that I think I want to do,

I see giants riding rhinos,

and an ogre with a sword,

there’s a dragon blowing smoke rings,

I’m positively bored.

Today is very boring,

I can hardly help but yawn,

there’s a flying saucer landing

in the middle of my lawn,

a volcano just erupted

less than half a mile away,

and I think I feel an eathquake,

it’s a very boring day.

This s a poem by Jack Prelutsky who is my favorite poet. I love the way he uses his imagination and the descriptive words that he uses. When I read it I visualize many things happening. Tell me how you feel about this poem……

  • What do you visualize when you read this poem?
  • How do you think the author was feeling when he wrote it? Have you ever felt that way?
  • What are some of the descriptive words he used to help you visualize?
  • What would be another good title for this poem? Do you like this poem? why or why not?

Posted by: Ms. Dalhouse for class 2-211

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

HECTOR THE COLLECTOR by Shel Silverstein 2-102 What is Red? by Mary O’Neill

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adiv Sethi  |  June 15, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I vizulalise me being bored. The author felt bored when he was writting this poem I felt that way before. The author used descriptive words like boring erupted yawn eathquake. I think the tittle shoud be The most boringest day ever. I dont like this poem because it is boring.

    Reply
  • 2. Omaveta Nikita Kanhai 2-211  |  June 14, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    I visualize a rainy day. The author sounds like he is feeling sad.I feel like that when I don’t get to watch t.v.The author used descriptive words like boring A good title would be.”A rainy day”.I liked this poem because the author describing things so well!

    Reply
  • 3. Adnan Bokhari 2-211  |  June 14, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I see a boy talking with his eyes close.A time when I felt like that was outside eating popcorn.A descriptive word was boring.A good title would be The boring day.Once I was bored like that I was inside when it was raining and there was not a thing to do inside and just eating.

    Reply
  • 4. Leslye Deliyne Alarcon 2-211  |  June 14, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    I visualize when I read this poem when the ground started shaking and all the everybody started falling!
    I think the author was feeling bored maybe that is why he wrote this poem Today Is Very Boring?I felt the same way when I went to the Dentist an had nothing to do but just sit in the Waiting Room to wait for my turn and I was bored!The descriptive words to help me visualize are Volcano,Bored,Earthquake,Erupted,Yawn,Rhinos,Rings,Away,Day,Boring,Sword,Do,Lawn,Nothing,Landing,Through,Bed,Doorstep,Head,Sneakers.I think the title of this poem should be ”THIS IS A STRANGE BORED DAY”because it was strange and it was boring for him too!I like this poem because it reminds me when I was bored and I saw strange things going on too!

    Reply
  • 5. Dawniqueca Annie Alleyanna Lisa Steele  |  June 14, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    In the poem, I visualized all the stuff the author was saying. I think the author was feeling bored and I have felt that way. Some words that I visualized. earthquake,volcano,erupted,saucer,giants,dragons,bored,boring . I think the title should be called”A Bored Day ” because the author was bored and I think he didn’t care what happened outside.

    Reply
  • 6. Rianna Alanis Aquino 2-211  |  June 14, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    I visualize a dormouse on a doorstep making noise. I think the author is feeling bored. I felt this way when it was a rainy day and I had nothing to do. some of the descriptive words that he used to help me visualize erupting volcano,ogre with a sword. I suggest that another good tittle for this poem would be the positively boring day. I don’t like this poem because it makes me feel bored.

    Reply
  • 7. Bryan David Ponton 2-211  |  June 7, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I visualized a toy volcano erupting.I think the author was feeling bored.yes I felt that way before.he used like blowing,smoke,erupted.I think a good title for this poem is ‘I hate boring days” I like this poem because I had a day like this before.

    Reply
  • 8. Charissa Jada Bachan  |  June 7, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I felt the ground shaking in this poem.I visualized a volcano erupted and I saw a penguin on his head. that made laugh. I think the author was feeling bored so he wrote about it in this poem. I felt that way when it was raining. Some of the description words were boring and giant. I think a another title would be ” I’m bored”. I like this poem because the title was ”today is very boring”. Then they listed stuff that was not boring and it was boring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Kimi_Zek on What is Red? by Mary O…
harleyburn_ on What is Red? by Mary O…
Anonymous on What is Red? by Mary O…
siti nur farahana on What is Red? by Mary O…
mshakthy on What is Red? by Mary O…

RSS 3rd Grade Blog

RSS 4th Grade Blog

Categories


