Confession by Bruce Lansky

June 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm 16 comments

Confession
by Bruce Lansky

I have a brief confession
that I would like to make.
If I don’t get it off my chest
I’m sure my heart will break.

I didn’t do my reading.
I watched TV instead—
while munching cookies, cakes, and chips
and cinnamon raisin bread.

I didn’t wash the dishes.
I didn’t clean the mess.
Now there are roaches eating crumbs—
a million, more or less.

I didn’t turn the TV off.
I didn’t shut the light.
Just think of all the energy
I wasted through the night.

I feel so very guilty.
I did a lousy job.
I hope my students don’t find out
that I am such a slob.

After reading the first 4 stanzas who do you think is talking?

Who is really talking?  How do you know?

How does this poem make you feel after reading it?

The first time I read this poem I thought it was a student that wrote it.  Then after I finished reading I realized it was a teacher!  It reminded me that sometimes teachers make mistakes too.  I was able to  visualize everything the teacher was doing because of the descriptive language the poet used.  While I was reading I pictured a student in my head doing these things, but at the end the picture changed when I found out it was a teacher.

Posted by Ms. Vought

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Class2-206 – Walking Home in a Storm Leaders and Role Models

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. breanna  |  September 16, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    welcome back p.s62 nice to see you all…

    Reply
    • 2. breanna  |  September 16, 2010 at 7:48 pm

      I LOVE P.S 62 !!!!!!!!!!!!

      Reply
  • 3. Amelia  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I thought that you were a little kid talking.A teacher was talking. At the end he said that i hope that my students don’t find out.I felt like wow.

    Reply
  • 4. Adam  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I thought it was a girl at first but now I know it was a teacher because when it said “I hope my students don’t find out that I am such a slob.” This poem made me feel sloppy because everything was messy in the poem.

    Reply
  • 5. Ali.f  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I thought that a child was talking because the child didn’t do it’s homework.Now I know that it is a teacher talking because the teacher said that he/she hopes he/her students don’t find out that he/she is a slob.The poem made me feel excited.

    Reply
  • 6. Kimberly  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    I thought the student was talking in the beginning.At the end the teacher was really talking.I know the teacher was really talking because it said I hope my students don’t find out that I am just a slob.I felt sad when the teacher said I am such a slob.

    Reply
  • 7. Zipporah.c  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    At first I
    thought
    that at first
    a little boy
    was talking.
    When I
    heard that
    when
    he/she
    were
    talking
    & when
    it said that
    I hope my
    students
    don’t
    find out
    I am a
    slob.
    This book
    makes me
    feel sad.

    Reply
  • 8. Shyanne & Ivan  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    We thought first it was a little girl/boy talking. We found out it was a teacher because,at the last sentence he/she said,”I hope my students don’t find out!”The poem makes us feel like teachers are sloppy, “Oh No!”

    Reply
  • 9. KENNEDY & Shanan  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I thought it was a kid talking in the beginning. A teacher was talking . At the end it tolled me. It made me feel happy.

    Reply
  • 10. Kevin  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I think talking in the poem was a boy. It was a teacher talking. She was really talking.When the poem said I hope my students don”t find out I am a slob. When I read this poem I did not want to be a slob.

    Reply
  • 11. Angelina  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    I thought a girl was talking because when the poem said I ate cookies,chips,and cakes I knew that kids eat junk food.A teacher was actually talking.I know that it was a teacher because at the end of the poem it said I hope my students don’t find out that I am such a slob.I think the poem is funny because it makes me laugh!

    Reply
  • 12. Carine  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    I thought a kid was talking. I found out it was a teacher talking. She has students in class. This made me feel good.

    Reply
  • 13. Lizbeth  |  June 22, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I thought that it was a child talking. The person that was really talking was a teacher. I know that it was a teacher because she/he said I don’t want my students to find out that I am a slob. I felt like the students were going to find out. This poem made me laugh when the teacher called himself/herself a slob!

    Reply
  • 14. Zipporah  |  June 21, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    In the beginning when it showed that I don’t read I thought at first it was a little boy.Now that the poet explained it I know that it must be a teacher.

    Reply
  • 15. Rieana  |  June 21, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I thought that the kid wouldn’t be a teacher. I really liked this poet because the kid was sloppy at first then the kid turned out to be a teacher in his/her adult life.The kid is not that neat.But when he/she is all grown up he/she is a teacher he/she visualizes about that time.So he/she hope his/her students don’t find out.

    Reply
  • 16. Yesenia  |  June 21, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I thought a kid was talking when it was watching tv. I know kids watch tv. Now I know it was a teacher talking. It was a teacher talking becuse the poem once said that I don’t want the students to find out I am a slob.I feel upset becuse teachers are smart and mabye they should watch smart stuff. They can get confused and when they teach you don’t know what to learn next.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories